Skip to main content

Red Seal exam rules by province: rewrites, attempts, fees and booking

The Red Seal exam itself is the same across Canada: four hours, multiple choice and a 70% pass mark. Each province and territory runs the exam, so it sets who may write, the fees, how you book, how long you wait before a rewrite and how many attempts you get. For example, Ontario and British Columbia require 30 days between attempts, Saskatchewan three months before a second attempt, and Quebec has no waiting period. This page lists only what each authority’s official site states; where a rule is not stated, check with the authority.

What is the same in every province

The Red Seal exam preparation guide sets a four-hour writing time and a 70% pass mark, with four choices and one correct answer per question. Red Seal exams are administered by the provincial and territorial apprenticeship and certification authorities, and the Red Seal Program says the cost of the exam varies by province and territory.

Some authorities also run separate provincial exams for trades or certificates outside the Red Seal Program, with their own pass marks. The rules below are about the Red Seal (certification) exam and, where the authority publishes them, the challenge route for experienced workers.

Source: Red Seal Program: exam preparation guide · Red Seal Program: register for an exam

Rewrite rules at a glance

Rewrite waits and attempt limits by province
ProvinceWait before a rewriteAttempts and required training
Ontario30 daysNo maximum stated; the exam fee is paid again for each retake
QuebecNo waiting periodAfter two failures, you must show you upgraded your skills (a training certificate from the CCQ, a school board or a recognized institution).
AlbertaNot stated on the official pages we checkedTrades qualifiers: a second attempt with a rewrite fee. After a second fail, a mark of 60–69% lets you submit a Training Plan within 30 days for a third attempt; otherwise the application is cancelled.
British Columbia30 days from the previous attemptTrade qualifiers: four writes of the certification exam (since December 1, 2023). Advisor approval before a third attempt; proof of upgrading before a fourth.
SaskatchewanThree months before a second attemptTrade qualifiers: four written attempts (two for applicants who are not citizens or permanent residents). Upgrading is required after a failed third attempt.
ManitobaNot stated on the official pages we checkedBefore a third or fourth attempt, you may be required to upgrade your skills, decided case by case.
Nova ScotiaNot stated on the official pages we checkedIts 2024–25 exam schedule says rewrites are paid each time and further attempts may require additional training.
Newfoundland and LabradorAt least 30 calendar days, and should be within 90 daysA course of study approved by ATCD is required before a third or later attempt.

Ontario: Skilled Trades Ontario

  • Wait before a rewrite: 30 days.
  • Attempts: No maximum stated; the exam fee is paid again for each retake
  • Fees: exam $150 + HST, paid in the STO Portal. Apprentices with a completed Ontario training agreement do not pay it for their first attempt. Experienced workers first pay $235 + HST for the Trade Equivalency Assessment.
  • Booking: in the STO Portal after you are eligible; you get an Authorization to Test Letter and an email confirmation.
  • Exam: in person at a college campus or STO headquarters; Red Seal exams are written on the rsexam.ca online system with an STO invigilator.
  • Results: Skilled Trades Ontario provides your results and next steps after the exam.
  • Language: English or French only.

How to challenge the Red Seal exam in Ontario without an Ontario apprenticeship

Sources: Skilled Trades Ontario: exam scheduling · Skilled Trades Ontario: finish an apprenticeship · Skilled Trades Ontario: Trade Equivalency Assessment

Quebec: Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle)

  • Wait before a rewrite: No waiting period.
  • Attempts: After two failures, you must show you upgraded your skills (a training certificate from the CCQ, a school board or a recognized institution).
  • Who can write: holders of a qualification certificate issued by the Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale or by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ).
  • Fees (schedule in force January 1, 2026): $330 for registration, exam admission and the certificate; $352 for CCQ certificate holders (file review included); $330 for a retake.
  • Booking: send the application, documents and payment to the Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle in Victoriaville; eligible candidates get a notice to register for a Red Seal exam session.
  • Exam: 100 to 150 multiple-choice questions in 4 hours, 70% to pass. If you pass, your certificate with the Red Seal endorsement is mailed to you.
  • Construction-site work in Quebec needs a CCQ competency certificate, with its own CCQ exams; see Red Seal, CCQ and Emploi-Québec.

Red Seal, CCQ or Emploi-Québec: which exam do you need in Quebec?

Sources: Québec.ca: the Red Seal Program · Québec.ca: apprenticeship and qualification fees, January 1, 2026 (PDF, French)

Alberta: Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training (Tradesecrets)

  • Wait before a rewrite: Not stated on the official pages we checked.
  • Attempts: Trades qualifiers: a second attempt with a rewrite fee. After a second fail, a mark of 60–69% lets you submit a Training Plan within 30 days for a third attempt; otherwise the application is cancelled.
  • Fees: the Trades Qualifier work-experience application fee is $450, non-refundable, and it includes your first theory exam attempt. A rewrite needs a new rewrite fee. Practical exam fees, where a trade has one, vary by trade.
  • Booking: once your application is approved, Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training schedules the theory exam and posts the date, time and location in your MyTradesecrets account. You may reschedule up to two times, and you have 18 months from approval to complete the program.
  • Pass mark: 70%. Results come in an exam result letter.
  • Language: most Alberta exams are in English only, but Red Seal exams are available in English or French.

Sources: Alberta: Trades Qualifier exams · Alberta: qualify based on work experience, program details

British Columbia: SkilledTradesBC

  • Wait before a rewrite: 30 days from the previous attempt.
  • Attempts: Trade qualifiers: four writes of the certification exam (since December 1, 2023). Advisor approval before a third attempt; proof of upgrading before a fourth.
  • Fees (Challenge pathway): $120 application fee paid in the Portal; second attempt no fee; third and fourth attempts $100 each.
  • Booking: in the SkilledTradesBC Portal (Exam Booking), by calling Customer Service or with the Exam Application Form. Write within 24 months of approval.
  • Results: an Exam Results Letter by email within 30 business days, also visible in the Portal. The pass mark is 70%, and results are rounded up, so 69.5% passes.
  • After using every permitted rewrite, SkilledTradesBC says you must enrol in technical training.
  • Language: SkilledTradesBC lists a bilingual Red Seal exam, with the content printed in French, among its exam accommodations.

Sources: SkilledTradesBC: exam rewrites · SkilledTradesBC: challenge the certification exam · SkilledTradesBC: exam results · SkilledTradesBC: exam accommodations

Saskatchewan: Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission (SATCC)

  • Wait before a rewrite: Three months before a second attempt.
  • Attempts: Trade qualifiers: four written attempts (two for applicants who are not citizens or permanent residents). Upgrading is required after a failed third attempt.
  • Fees (SATCC fee schedule as of July 2, 2025): Trade Qualifier assessment $400; written examination $175; request for upgrading evaluation $125.
  • Experience: proof of working 1.5 times the term of apprenticeship for the trade. The trade qualifier route is for non-compulsory designated trades.
  • Booking: register for the written exam (and practical, if any) through MyATC. You must live in Saskatchewan to apply for the certification exam.

Sources: SATCC: exams for experienced workers · SATCC: experienced workers · SATCC fee schedule, July 2, 2025 (PDF)

Manitoba: Apprenticeship Manitoba

  • Wait before a rewrite: Not stated on the official pages we checked.
  • Attempts: Before a third or fourth attempt, you may be required to upgrade your skills, decided case by case.
  • Fees: trades qualification application $200; certification exam $400; re-exam $100.
  • Booking: the exam application form and schedule are emailed to trade qualifiers; you choose a time, date and place. Exams are held in Winnipeg, Brandon, Thompson and The Pas, and you have one year to write.
  • Exam: four hours, 70% to pass. After a failed attempt you receive your results and a trade exam report.

Sources: Apprenticeship Manitoba: certification exams

Nova Scotia: Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency

  • Wait before a rewrite: Not stated on the official pages we checked.
  • Attempts: Its 2024–25 exam schedule says rewrites are paid each time and further attempts may require additional training.
  • Fees: the agency announced on October 7, 2025 that the trade qualifier fee is $350, examination fee included.
  • Booking: exam applications are due on the date shown in the schedule, generally a month before each sitting; the current schedule is in the AMS portal. An exam can be rescheduled once without penalty.
  • Pass mark: 70% for certification and Red Seal exams.

Sources: NSAA: training and exams · NSAA: reduction of trade qualifier fees (October 7, 2025) · NSAA exam schedule 2024–25 (PDF)

Newfoundland and Labrador: Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division (ATCD)

  • Wait before a rewrite: At least 30 calendar days, and should be within 90 days.
  • Attempts: A course of study approved by ATCD is required before a third or later attempt.
  • Fees: since April 1, 2025, apprentices pay no fees to write or rewrite an exam, and trade qualifiers pay no application or examination fees.
  • Booking: rewrites are held monthly in regional ATCD offices; send the rewrite registration form at least 3 weeks before the chosen date.
  • Results: by email, usually 10 business days after the exam, with a breakdown by exam section if you did not pass. The pass mark is 70%.

Sources: ATCD: certification exam rewrites · Government of Newfoundland and Labrador news release, April 22, 2025

Other provinces and territories

We could not confirm these authorities’ rules on their official websites during this review. Contact your province’s or territory’s apprenticeship authority for fees, booking and rewrites; the Red Seal Program publishes their contact details.

Red Seal Program: provincial and territorial apprenticeship authorities

Questions about Red Seal exam rules

How many times can you write the Red Seal exam?

It depends on the province. British Columbia limits trade qualifiers to four writes, Saskatchewan gives trade qualifiers four written attempts, Alberta allows a third attempt only after a 60–69% mark and an approved Training Plan, and Newfoundland and Labrador requires an approved course before a third attempt. Ontario’s exam scheduling page states no maximum.

How long do you have to wait to rewrite the Red Seal exam?

Ontario and British Columbia: 30 days. Newfoundland and Labrador: at least 30 calendar days, ideally within 90. Saskatchewan: three months before a second attempt. Quebec: no waiting period. Other provinces did not state a waiting period on the pages we checked.

How much does the Red Seal exam cost?

It varies. Ontario charges $150 + HST per attempt, Quebec $330 (registration, exam and certificate), Manitoba $400 for the trades qualification exam, and Newfoundland and Labrador no exam fees since April 1, 2025. Challenge routes add assessment or application fees in most provinces.

Is the pass mark the same in every province?

Yes for the Red Seal exam: 70%. Provincial exams for other certificates can differ; for example, Quebec’s compulsory electricity certificate exam has a 60% pass mark.

Can I write the Red Seal exam in French?

The Red Seal Program asks candidates to confirm their exam language, English or French, when they register. Ontario offers exams in English or French only, and Alberta offers Red Seal exams in English or French.

Official sources

Independent study aid by Certloom Learning. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the Red Seal Program, Skilled Trades Ontario or any provincial or territorial apprenticeship authority. Fees and rules change: confirm them with your authority before you apply. No passing guarantee.