Skip to main content

How to challenge the Red Seal exam as a trade qualifier, province by province

If you learned a trade on the job and never finished an apprenticeship, you can apply to your province’s apprenticeship authority as a trade qualifier (Ontario calls it a Trade Equivalency Assessment). The authority checks your documented hours and tasks. Once you are approved, you write the same Red Seal exam apprentices write. The hours bar differs a lot by province: for Industrial Mechanic (Millwright) it is 8,000 hours in Ontario, 9,360 in Alberta, 9,540 in British Columbia, 9,600 in Manitoba and 10,800 in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador. Fees range from none in Newfoundland and Labrador to a $200 application plus a $400 exam in Manitoba. Quebec works differently: you need a Quebec qualification certificate before the Red Seal exam.

Who is a trade qualifier?

A trade qualifier, also called a challenger or experienced worker, has the hours and skills of the trade but no certificate from a completed apprenticeship. Each province decides who qualifies, how many hours count, which documents it accepts and what it charges.

Every authority below except Quebec asks for proof of your work in the trade: dated hours and the tasks you did, confirmed by employers, supervisors or references on its own forms. Some also interview you or check your references.

The exam is the same one apprentices write

Approval lets you write the interprovincial Red Seal exam for your trade. The Red Seal exam preparation guide sets four hours, multiple-choice questions with four choices and one correct answer, and a 70% pass mark. Some provinces add a practical exam for certain trades, such as Machinist in Alberta, Manitoba and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Years of work may not cover every section of the exam evenly. The official guide points to each trade’s exam breakdown and sample questions: compare the breakdown with what you actually do at work, then study the gaps first.

Source: Red Seal Program: exam preparation guide

Steps in every province

  1. Find your trade’s hours and task list on your authority’s page, linked in the province sections below.
  2. Gather proof for each employer: dates, hours and tasks, on the authority’s declaration or verification form.
  3. Apply and pay the application fee, then wait for the decision. Manitoba says up to eight weeks after payment and documents; SkilledTradesBC says about 10 to 12 weeks.
  4. Once approved, book the exam within the authority’s time limit: one year in Manitoba, six months in Newfoundland and Labrador, 24 months in British Columbia and 18 months to finish the program in Alberta.
  5. Study the exam breakdown for your trade, take a practice test, and work on your weakest sections before exam day.

The route by province at a glance

Trade qualifier route to the Red Seal exam, by province
ProvinceRoute and who runs itExperience requiredFees
OntarioTrade Equivalency Assessment (Skilled Trades Ontario)At least the full apprenticeship, school hours included: 309A and 313A 9,000 h; 421A 7,000 h; 429A and 433A 8,000 hAssessment $235 + HST; exam $150 + HST per attempt; reassessment $100 + HST
AlbertaTrades Qualifier – Work Experience program (Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training)Set per trade: Electrician 9,180 h (72 months); Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic, Machinist and Millwright 9,360 h (72 months); Heavy Equipment Technician branches 6,750 h (54 months)$450 application, first theory exam included; rewrite fee amount not stated; Machinist practical exam $115
British ColumbiaChallenge a Certification Exam as a Trade Qualifier (SkilledTradesBC)Set per trade on its declaration form: Construction Electrician 9,000 h; Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic 9,315 h; Heavy Duty Equipment Technician and Machinist 9,495 h; Millwright 9,540 h; plus at least 70% of the listed tasks$120 application (first attempt); second attempt no fee; third and fourth $100 each
QuebecA Quebec qualification certificate first (MESS or CCQ), then the Red Seal examNo single hours figure for experienced workers; it depends on the trade (see below)Red Seal exam $330 ($352 for CCQ certificate holders); retake $330
ManitobaTrades Qualification (Apprenticeship Manitoba)10,800 h (6 years) for Construction Electrician, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic, Heavy Duty Equipment Technician and Machinist; 9,600 h (6 years) for Industrial Mechanic (Millwright)Application $200; certification exam $400; re-exam $100
Nova ScotiaTrade Qualification Program (Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency)10,800 h for all five trades (trade regulations)$350, exam included (since October 7, 2025); rewrite fee not stated
Newfoundland and LabradorTrade Qualifier (Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division)1.5 times the on-the-job hours of the apprenticeship: 10,800 h for all five trades, within the last 10 yearsNo application or exam fees since April 1, 2025

Each row is detailed below, with the official page cited for every fact, checked 2026-10-13.

Ontario: Trade Equivalency Assessment (Skilled Trades Ontario)

  • Experienced workers who did not complete an Ontario apprenticeship apply to Skilled Trades Ontario for a Trade Equivalency Assessment. You need experience at least equal to the prescribed or recommended total training time of the apprenticeship, on-the-job and in-school hours included. (source: Skilled Trades Ontario: Trade Equivalency Assessment, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Hours by trade: 309A Electrician – Construction and Maintenance 9,000; 313A Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Systems Mechanic 9,000; 421A Heavy Duty Equipment Technician 7,000; 429A General Machinist 8,000; 433A Industrial Mechanic Millwright 8,000. 309A applicants must also show knowledge of the Canadian Electrical Code (legal electrical work in Canada, or a Code course of at least 12 hours). (source: Skilled Trades Ontario: Trade Qualifier Application Guide (PDF), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Fees: the assessment costs $235 + HST and a reassessment costs $100 + HST. (source: Skilled Trades Ontario: Trade Equivalency Assessment, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Once approved, you pay the $150 + HST exam fee when you book. After a failed attempt there is a mandatory 30-day wait, and you pay the exam fee again before rebooking. (source: Skilled Trades Ontario: exam scheduling, checked 2026-10-13)

Every Ontario step: work verifications, the STO Portal and exam day

Rewrites and booking: Ontario

Alberta: Trades Qualifier – Work Experience program (Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training)

  • The Trades Qualifier – Work Experience program is for experienced tradespeople without a trade certificate recognized in Alberta. You apply online in MyTradesecrets (Programs for Experienced Workers) and pay a non-refundable $450 application fee. Minimum months and hours are counted on full-time employment (more than 30 hours a week) in the trade. (source: Alberta: Trades Qualifier work experience, program details, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Hours by trade (trade profiles): Electrician 72 months and 9,180 hours (compulsory trade); Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic 72 months and 9,360 hours (compulsory); Machinist 72 months and 9,360 hours plus a practical exam (optional certification); Industrial Mechanic (Millwright) 72 months and 9,360 hours (optional certification); Heavy Equipment Technician, Heavy Duty Equipment Mechanic (Off Road) branch, 54 months and 6,750 hours (compulsory). (source: Alberta: Industrial Mechanic (Millwright) trade profile; Construction Electrician; Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic; Heavy Duty Equipment Technician; Machinist, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Your first theory exam attempt is included in the application fee; a rewrite needs a new rewrite fee, whose amount the page does not state. The pass mark is 70%, and you have 18 months from approval to complete the program. The Machinist practical exam costs $115. (source: Alberta: Trades Qualifier exams, checked 2026-10-13)

Rewrites and booking: Alberta

British Columbia: Challenge a Certification Exam as a Trade Qualifier (SkilledTradesBC)

Rewrites and booking: British Columbia

Quebec: A Quebec qualification certificate first (MESS or CCQ), then the Red Seal exam

  • The Red Seal exam is open to holders of a qualification certificate issued by the Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (MESS) or by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ). You first have your eligibility checked, then get a notice to register for a Red Seal exam session. The pass mark is 70%. (source: Québec.ca: the Red Seal Program, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Fees (schedule in force January 1, 2026): $330 for registration, exam admission and the certificate; $352 for CCQ certificate holders, file review included; $330 for a retake. (source: Québec.ca: fee schedule in force January 1, 2026 (PDF, French), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Machinist (conventional machine tool) is a voluntary trade recognized in the Red Seal Program. Québec.ca says an experienced person can have their skills and experience recognized to obtain the qualification certificate, and recommends at least five years in the trade, two of them in the last five years. It states no hours figure, exam or fee for this route. (source: Québec.ca: machinist, conventional machine tool (French), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Industrial mechanic is also a voluntary trade recognized in the Red Seal Program; its Québec.ca page describes the workplace apprenticeship (two or three years) and no separate experienced-worker route. Québec.ca’s workforce skills recognition program can let experienced workers have their skills recognized and obtain a qualification certificate; eligibility criteria vary by trade. (source: Québec.ca: workforce skills recognition (French), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Electricity (CÉ) and refrigeration system class 1 (SF-1) are compulsory MESS certificates for work outside construction. The ministry may shorten the apprenticeship based on your work experience, proven with its work experience attestation form; Québec.ca states no fixed hours figure for experienced workers. Their provincial exams are separate from the Red Seal exam (60% pass mark). A Red Seal holder in either trade gets the MESS certificate with no other requirements. (source: Québec.ca: electricity qualification certificate (French), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Construction-site work covered by Quebec’s construction industry law needs a CCQ competency certificate, with the CCQ’s own exams. Our apps do not prepare you for CCQ or MESS provincial exams. (source: Québec.ca: refrigeration system class 1 certificate (French), checked 2026-10-13)
  • For heavy equipment, Québec.ca’s page on the voluntary trade mécanicien d’engins de chantier says it is recognized in the Red Seal Program and describes no experienced-worker route. (source: Québec.ca: mécanicien d’engins de chantier (French), checked 2026-10-13)

Red Seal, CCQ or Emploi-Québec: which exam do you need in Quebec?

Rewrites and booking: Quebec

Manitoba: Trades Qualification (Apprenticeship Manitoba)

Rewrites and booking: Manitoba

Nova Scotia: Trade Qualification Program (Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency)

Rewrites and booking: Nova Scotia

Newfoundland and Labrador: Trade Qualifier (Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division)

  • You complete the Trade Qualifier Application to be Examined and a Record of Work Experience for each employer, and you need at least one and a half times the on-the-job work experience of an apprenticeship term, with your skills verified by a certified journeyperson. If approved, you are contacted to schedule the certification exam. Machinist also requires a practical exam first. (source: ATCD: trade qualifiers, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Hours by trade (application form, February 2026): 10,800 for Construction Electrician, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic, Heavy Duty Equipment Technician, Machinist and Industrial Mechanic (Millwright). The hours must fall within the last 10 years, and approved applicants must attempt the exam within six months of approval. (source: ATCD: Trade Qualifier Application to be Examined, February 2026 (PDF), checked 2026-10-13)
  • Fees: since April 1, 2025, trade qualifiers no longer pay application or examination fees. (source: Government of Newfoundland and Labrador news release, April 22, 2025, checked 2026-10-13)
  • Construction Electrician is one of the province’s five compulsory trades; the other four of our trades are not on that list. (source: ATCD: compulsory certification, checked 2026-10-13)

Rewrites and booking: Newfoundland and Labrador

Prepare by trade: free practice test, guide and app

Each free practice test has 25 reviewed questions with answers and explanations, online or as a PDF, with no account. The guides follow the official Red Seal exam breakdown for the trade.

309A Electrician – Construction and Maintenance

Red Seal: Construction Electrician. 309A is the Ontario trade code; the Red Seal exam has 100 questions.

Free 25-question practice test · PDF version · exam guide · official exam breakdown

Electrician app: free download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam. One C$19.99 in-app purchase unlocks all 1,500+ questions.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

313A Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Systems Mechanic

Red Seal: Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic. 313A is the Ontario trade code; the Red Seal exam has 125 questions.

Free 25-question practice test · PDF version · exam guide · official exam breakdown

HVAC/R app: free download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam. One C$19.99 in-app purchase unlocks all 1,500+ questions.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

421A Heavy Duty Equipment Technician

Red Seal: Heavy Duty Equipment Technician. 421A is the Ontario trade code; the Red Seal exam has 135 questions.

Free 25-question practice test · PDF version · exam guide · official exam breakdown

HDET app: free download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam. One C$19.99 in-app purchase unlocks all 1,500+ questions.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

429A General Machinist

Red Seal: Machinist. 429A is the Ontario trade code; the Red Seal exam has 135 questions.

Free 25-question practice test · PDF version · exam guide · official exam breakdown

Machinist app: free download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam. One C$19.99 in-app purchase unlocks all 1,500+ questions.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

433A Industrial Mechanic Millwright

Red Seal: Industrial Mechanic (Millwright). 433A is the Ontario trade code; the Red Seal exam has 135 questions.

Free 25-question practice test · PDF version · exam guide · official exam breakdown

Millwright app: free download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam. One C$19.99 in-app purchase unlocks all 2,000+ questions.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Questions about challenging the Red Seal exam

Can I challenge the Red Seal exam without an apprenticeship?

Yes, in every province on this page. The route is called the Trade Equivalency Assessment in Ontario, the Trades Qualifier program in Alberta, Challenge a Certification Exam in British Columbia, Trades Qualification in Manitoba, the Trade Qualification Program in Nova Scotia and Trade Qualifier in Newfoundland and Labrador. In Quebec you first need a Quebec qualification certificate from the MESS or the CCQ, then you can apply for the Red Seal exam.

How many hours do I need to challenge the Millwright Red Seal exam?

Ontario (433A) 8,000 hours, Alberta 9,360, British Columbia 9,540, Manitoba 9,600, and Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador 10,800, according to each authority’s pages checked October 13, 2026.

How many hours do I need to challenge the Construction Electrician Red Seal exam?

Ontario (309A) 9,000 hours plus proof of Canadian Electrical Code knowledge, Alberta 9,180, British Columbia 9,000, and Manitoba, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador 10,800. Construction Electrician is a compulsory trade in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador, and 309A is compulsory in Ontario.

How much does it cost to challenge the Red Seal exam?

Ontario: $235 + HST for the assessment and $150 + HST per exam attempt. Alberta: $450, first theory exam included. British Columbia: $120 for the application and first attempt. Manitoba: $200 application and $400 exam. Nova Scotia: $350, exam included. Newfoundland and Labrador: no application or exam fees since April 1, 2025. Quebec: $330 for the Red Seal exam, or $352 for CCQ certificate holders.

Is the trade qualifier exam harder than the apprentice exam?

It is the same Red Seal exam, with the same 70% pass mark. What differs is the path to it: you prove your experience instead of completing in-school training, so it is worth checking the exam breakdown for sections your work did not cover.

Does Red Seal Ready help with the application?

No. We do not process applications or assess hours; your provincial authority does. Red Seal Ready helps you study once you are approved: a free 25-question practice test for each of our five trades, and apps that are free to download with 50 questions and a 25-question sample exam.

Official sources

Independent study aid by Certloom Learning. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the Red Seal Program, Skilled Trades Ontario or any provincial or territorial apprenticeship authority. Fees and rules change: confirm them with your authority before you apply. No passing guarantee.